I Turned Miso Soup Into Hummus and You Should Too

As much as I love Japanese cuisine, lets get real; there are many things that I miss. Hummus, which was a staple to our diet in the States, is impossible to find here in Japan. Thankfully, it is super easy to make. But, garbanzo beans (AKA chickpeas) are hard to find here at a decent price. So, I came up with an alternative using easy-to-find ingredients. Using Japanese-y flavors, this recipe is SUPEReasy and can be adjusted to suit your personal taste! The possibilities are endless.

Ingredients:
1 block of tofu
Miso paste (any kind is okay. I used red miso paste with dashi flavor)
3 cloves of garlic (This might be too much depending on your preference. I LOVE garlic)
Hand-full of chopped green onions
Juice of half a lemon
2 tbsp Tahini (here in Japan it can simply be sesame paste. I used a pestle and mortar to grind sesame seeds. It’s your choice.)
3 tbsp olive oil
salt and pepper to taste
Eggplant optional*

Instructions:
1. Chop garlic into small pieces and roast with 1 tsp olive oil
2. Add garlic with all ingredients in a blender or food processor
3. Blend until smooth. This might take a few times to stop and stir, depending on the strength of your blender.
4. Don’t forget to taste. You may want to add more miso or salt.
5. Continue blending until smooth.
6. Enjoy! I like to eat it with warm bread, cucumbers and carrots.

*I added roasted eggplant the last time I made this. It added a little smokey flavor and was delicious!

Itadakemasu!

Leave a Reply

