Roasted Kabocha Squash, Carrot and Apple Soup

Fall… autumn… whatever you call it, it’s in this soup. As I was trying to find yet another way to use my kabocha squash, I stumbled upon a numerous amount of seasonal soup recipes online with both classic and unconventional ingredients and methods. Here in Japan, with limited access to some major fall staples, I decided to combine some ideas from the recipes online with a few of my own ideas using the items I have access to.

Skeptical at first, the aroma that this recipe provides gave me hope. It smells SO GOOD and prepares your taste buds for the delicious spoonfuls of flavor. The smell took me back to when my mom would light every seasonal candle she could find at one time while also cooking a fragrant dinner. Yum.fullsizeoutput_56f

This recipe is very simple, inexpensive and can be adapted to fit any diet. My version was vegan but it would be delicious with a bone broth or stock. It can also be soy and gluten free by substituting miso and soy milk for salt and coconut milk.

Roasted Kabocha, Carrot and Apple Soup

Ingredients:

2 carrots
2 cups cubed kabocha squash (or pumpkin)
1 apple (I used a Fuji that I acquired after playing a game of apple bobbing with my students!)
1/4 onion
2 cloves garlic
2 tbsp miso
1 1/2 cup soy or coconut milk
1 cup water or broth
Salt and pepper
Plain yogurt or coconut cream for topping (optional)fullsizeoutput_56e

Instructions:

1. Roast apple slices, carrots, garlic cloves and onion in the oven at 400F or 220c for 30 minutes or until soft

2. Put EVERYTHING in a blender (veggies and liquids and miso) blend well

3. Pour into pot and simmer with lid on, stirring frequently

4. Add salt and pepper to taste

5. Eat with garlic bread!

Leave a Reply

